2017 WIPB Spelling Bee

2017 Bee set for March 11

UPDATE: We have a Champion! Caleb Roberts, a student a Heritage Hall Christian School, is the winner of the 2017 WIPB Spelling Bee. The first runner-up is Ria Agarwal, a student at Yorktown Middle School. Second runner-up is Alesya Rathinasamy, a student at Burris Laboratory School.

Watch the entire bee – one of the longest in recent history for this area (they were amazing spellers) – by clicking the link below!

Watch Online

MUNCIE – Spellers from more than 50 area schools will compete in the second WIPB Spelling Bee, set for 9 a.m. Saturday, March 11, in Sursa Performance Hall, on the campus of Ball State University.

The Youth Opportunity Center Foundation generously contributed the funds to cover the Scripps fees for schools to participate from Delaware, Jay, Blackford, and Randolph counties. The YOC has been supporting the regional bee for more than a decade.

The champion of the WIPB Spelling Bee will win an all-expenses-paid trip to Washington, D.C., to compete in the Scripps National Spelling Bee. Other prizes for the spellers include reference books, gift certificates and more.

In addition, WIPB has partnered with the Muncie Boys & Girls Club and Motivate Our Minds for spelling bee clubs that meet weekly at the centers.  The Boys & Girls Club spelling group is led by Ball State University journalism professor Youngah Lee and her daughter (a former spelling bee champ), Jinwon.

Last year’s WIPB Spelling Bee champion was Samantha Academia, a student at Yorktown Middle School.

School champions competing in this year’s regional spelling bee are: Trooper Bullock, Albany Elementary; Vernon Hilty, Bloomfield Elementary; Alesya Rathinasamy, Burris Laboratory School (Elementary); Jinwon Pae, Burris Laboratory School (Middle); Josie Byrd, Cowan Elementary; Perrin Belcher, Cowan Junior-Senior High School; Emerson Eichhorn, Daleville Elementary; Sophia Donnelly, Deerfield Elementary; Lily Jones, Delta Middle School; Inara Sanderson, East Elementary; Grace Brewster, East Jay County Middle School; Sophie Tuite, East Washington Academy; Amara Turvey, Eaton Elementary.

Ella Stockton, General Shanks Elementary; Presley Runyon, Grissom Elementary; Ashton Creamer-Lane, Heritage Hall Christian School (Elementary); Caleb Roberts, Heritage Hall Christian School (Middle); Aaliyah Parks, Homeschool Explorers (Elementary); Lucy Arnold, Homeschool Explorers (Middle); Ryne Goldsworthy, Judge Haynes Elementary; Brookelyn Erwin, Lee L. Driver Middle School; Marshall Turner, Longfellow Elementary, Francesca Tavianini, Mitchell Elementary; Guinevere Robertson, Monroe Central Elementary; Zackary Fulk, North Side Elementary (Union City).

Allie Parsons, North Side Elementary (Hartford City); Thurman Ball, North View Elementary School; Teddi Bishop, Northside Middle School; Cameran Paxson, Pennville Elementary; Stacey Glunt, Randolph Southern Elementary; Jewelia Austin, Randolph Southern Junior-Senio High School; Parker Nichols, Redkey Elementary; Samori McKell-Jeffers, Royerton Elementary; Jarryn Orme, Selma Elementary; Xavier Meredith, Selma Middle School; Kamryn Lambert, South View Elementary; Stevie Bonshire, Southside Middle School.

Nicholas Dosch, St. Lawrence Elementary; Arjun Reddy, St. Mary Elementary; Raphael Sabijon, St. Pope John Paul II Middle School; Jillian Kimmel, Storer Elementary; Malaylah Foster, Sutton Elementary; Austin Abbott, Union Elementary; Aaron King, Union Junior-Senior High School; Hannah Keeley, Union Junior and High School; Carly Brown, Wes-Del Elementary; Mady Justin, Wes-Del Junior-Senior High School; Hannah Outcalt, West Jay Middle School; Samantha Fowler, West View Elementary; Hayden Hardman, Westlawn Elementary; Andy Toney, Willard Elementary; Jaydon Sarino, Yorktown Elementary; Ria Agarwal, Yorktown Middle School.

For more about last year’s competition, including a video of the bee, click here.

WIPB Spelling Bee is presented by Family Vision Care with support from the Youth Opportunity Center. Additional support is provided by: Avila Orthodontics, Dr. Leland C. Wilhoite DDS, MutualBank, MITS, Boyce Systems and Thrive Federal Credit Union.

For more information about the WIPB Spelling Bee, contact Community Engagement Coordinator Michelle Kinsey at (765) 285-5887 or mkinsey@nullbsu.edu.